

EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING

City of Dripping Springs

Council Chambers, 511 Mercer St, Dripping Springs, TX Thursday, April 20, 2023 at 12:00 PM

Agenda

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Commission Members

Bonnie Humphrey, Chair Bill Little, Vice Chair Roman Baligad Scott Collard Sirenna Cumberland Gordon DeWitte Doug Fowler Ron Hood Mike Jones

Jason McNutt

Russell Paxton

Dillon Polk

Staff, Consultants & Appointed/Elected Officials

City Administrator Michelle Fischer Council Member Geoffrey Tahuahua

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

BUSINESS

- 1. Discuss and consider possible action regarding proposed Amendments to the Basic Plan.
- 2. Discuss and consider possible action regarding the Emergency Management Commission goals.
- 3. Discuss and consider possible action regarding the Emergency Management Commission Fiscal Year 2024 budget recommendations.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

4. Emergency Management Coordinator Report

Roman Baligad, Emergency Management Coordinator

- a. Public Relations
- b. Finance
- c. Training

5. Emergency Management Commission Chair Report

Bonnie Humphrey, EMC Chair

6. Operations Report

- a. Constables Office
- b. Dripping Springs ISD
- c. ESD No. 1
- d. ESD No. 6
- e. Hays County OEM

7. VOAD (Volunteer Organizations Active in Disasters) Report

UPCOMING MEETINGS

Emergency Management Commission Meetings

May 18, 2023, at 12:00 p.m. June 15, 2023, at 12:00 p.m. July 20, 2023, at 12:00 p.m.

City Council Meetings

May 2, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. May 16, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. June 6, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. June 20, 2023, at 6:00 p.m.

ADJOURN

This facility is wheelchair accessible. Accessible parking spaces are available. Requests for auxiliary aids and services must be made 48 hours prior to this meeting by calling (512) 858-4725.

VI.	ORGANIZATION AND ASSIGNMENT OF RESPONSIBILITIES1	
	A. Organization B. Assignment of Responsibilities	Error! Bookmark not defined.
VII.	DIRECTION AND CONTROL	1
	A. General B. Emergency Facilities	Error! Bookmark not defined.
	O. LINE OF COCCOSION	L

VI. ORGANIZATION AND ASSIGNMENT OF RESPONSIBILITIES

A. Organization

2. Executive Group

The Executive Group provides guidance and direction for emergency management programs and for emergency response and recovery operations. The Executive Group includes the County Judge, Mayor, City Administrators, Emergency Management Coordinator, and Emergency Management Commission Chair.

- a. The Emergency Management Commission will:
 - 1) Assist the Emergency Management Coordinator
 - 2) **Advise** the city council on recommended policies and application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the City and ETJ.
 - 3) **Develop** an emergency management plan consistent with federal, state, and county standards and practices that addresses the unique and special needs of the city and ETJ.
 - 4) Review the local emergency management plan annually and update as needed.
 - 5) **Manage**, **staff**, **and operate** an area emergency operations center when disaster, major incident, or event dictates that level of support to first responders.

VII. DIRECTION AND CONTROL

A. General

 Emergency Management Coordinator or Emergency Management Commission Chair will manage the EOC.

C. Line of Succession

- 1. The line of succession for the Mayor is:
 - a. Mayor Pro Tem
 - b. Senior Council Member
 - c. Next Senior Council Member
- 2. The line of succession for the City Administrator is:
 - a. Deputy City Administrator
 - b. City Attorney
 - c. City Secretary
- 3. The line of succession for the Emergency Management Coordinator is:

The requirements for personnel to fill the EMC role will be

- Completion of FEMA training IS-100, IS-200, IS-700 and IS-800.
- Attend monthly EM Commission meetings.
- a. Emergency Management Commission Chair
- b. Senior Emergency Management Commissioner
- a. Craig Rice- Deputy Public Works Director
- b. Shane Pevehouse- Building Official
- c. Laura Mueller- City Attorney
- d. Emergency Management Commission Chair
- e. Senior Emergency Management Commissioner
- 4. The lines of succession for each of our department and agency heads shall be in accordance with the SOPs established by those departments and agencies.